Gwinnett Book March 15, 2021 Revisions


Cover Image for book jacket. “Gwinnett County” extracted from “Railroad Map of Georgia,” Chicago: Rand McNally & Company, 1902
Elisha Winn House. Courtesy of Gwinnett Historical Society
Judge A. S. Clayton, presiding superior court judge in State v Missionaries in 1831, which resulted in the conviction of Samuel Worcester & Elizur Butler. Photo image courtesy of University of Georgia, Hargrett Library. Original portrait courtesy of Demosthenian Society, University of Georgia.
1977 drawing of George Morgan Waters House by Thomas C. Hudson, Jr. The house was built about 1830 as a one-story log cabin and then rebuilt by Waters and his son, Thomas Jefferson Waters, in the 1850s. The house stood on a hill overlooking Abbots Bridge Road in Gwinnett County until it burned in 1976. Waters called his plantation on the Chattahoochee, “Wales.” Permission to publish granted by Leah Ratzel, daughter of artist.
James P. Simmons, leader of Gwinnett delegation to Georgia Secession Convention in January 1861. Image extracted from John Livingston, Portraits of Eminent Americans Now Living, With Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Their Lives and Actions Vol 3 (Lamport & Company, 1854) before p 79.
Col. Richard D. Winn in 1861. Also member of the Gwinnett delegation to the Georgia Secession Convention in January 1861. Courtesy of Gwinnett Historical Society.
Charles Henry Smith, alias “Bill Arp” in 1903. Personal collection of David Parker
Congressman Thomas E. Winn, Allianceman & Populist. Extracted from Atlanta Constitution, August 17, 1890, p. 18.
Cotton at Seaboard Air Line Depot in Lawrenceville in 1907. Courtesy of Gwinnett Historical Society.
Edward “Buck” Buchanan extracted from The Ticker (New York) July 1908.
Alice Harrell Strickland. First female mayor in Georgia. Courtesy of Gwinnett Historical Society.
Ezzard Charles visiting John Ball’s Tavern in 1950. Courtesy of Ball State University Library, Archives & Special Collections.